WO3 Photocatalyst Degrades Organic Pollutant

Tungsten Oxide Picture

Tungsten trioxide can be used to degrade organic pollutants, air purification, degradation of VOCs, wastewater, dye wastewater, general industrial wastewater, leachate and surface organic pollutants film and other aspects.

Air Purification

There are a lot of researching progress that tungsten trioxide for the application of life, and many interesting inventions. For example, tungsten trioxide photocatalyst paper-based bamboo curtain, tungsten trioxide hollow ball, tungsten trioxide photocatalyst coating, and applied to television backdrop and so on. Uniformly coating the tungsten trioxide photocatalyst on a plate glass or other places, to form the photocatalytic film of transparent and excellent in the film strength after the solvent is evaporated sufficiently, and thus to bring out the photocatalytic effects of air purifier, self-cleaning ect..

Preparing method of tungsten trioxide photocatalyst coating: Metal tungsten by using a certain technique to burn or sublimate, thus to synthesize tungsten trioxide particles with a crystal structure, and then collected by using the ESP method (Electrical Dust Collection), then the tungsten oxide particles is dissolved in an alkaline aqueous solution to form a smaller particles, finally, we obtain a tungsten trioxide photocatalyst coating by adding a binder. In addition, after the combustion of particulates heat treatment, the high and stable photocatalyst can be obtained. It is worth mentioning that the amount of binder will also affect the activity of photocatalyst coating, when it is less than 1%, as the film, its strength is obviously not enough; while, when the amount exceeds 10%, the photocatalytic activity will be reduced.

The principle that photocatalyst removes formaldehyde from building materials is: when exposure to ultraviolet light, the hydroxyl ions on the surface of photocatalyst will be oxidized to the hole "hydroxyl radical" by the electronic holes, the hydroxyl radicals will grab electrons from other organic compounds (formaldehyde and various of volatile organic compounds), and the organic compounds which are taken away electrons will be degraded into smaller molecules (such as carbon dioxide and water ect.) due to the loss of electronic bonding ability. Compare to the formaldehyde remover, the photocatalytic decomposition will not generate subsequent harmful organic compounds, thus to avoid a secondary pollution.

Governance of VOCs

After years of research on governance of VOCs by photocatalytic technology, it has been large-scale used in China industrial waste-gas fields, and to form a series of organic light catalytic exhaust gas purification device in industrial after constantly improved. Studies have shown that the tungsten trioxide photocatalyst is a very effective catalyst on governance of VOCs, because volatile organic compounds will eventually be broken down into harmless carbon dioxide and water by the action of light. Thus, the photocatalyst has strong sterilization, deodorization, mildew, air purification and other functions. In particular, the composite tungsten oxide photocatalyst, such as doped ceria, yttria, due to contamination of other metallic elements, the lattice of tungsten trioxide itself has been changed, the advantageously in combination of the metal complex enhanced photocatalytic activity. However, the doping amount of the metal should not be too much, otherwise it may lower the photocatalytic activity of the photocatalyst.

Papermaking Wastewater Treatment

Free radicals and hydrogen peroxide with highly reactive can oxidize the aldehyde in the wastewater into carboxylic acid; and oxidize the cellulose, lignin, organic acids and other organic matters to CO, H0, N; also it can oxidize the inorganic sodium sulfite, sodium sulfide into sodium sulfite, sodium sulfide, thereby reducing wastewater COD and chromaticity.

The results showed that when using WO 3 / α-Fe 2 O 3 / W as the composite photocatalyst, when the composition ratio is being WO 3: α-FeO 3: W = 75: 24: 1, the COD and color removal rate of the papermaking wastewater are respectively 68.3% and 71.2%. Wastewater after depth treated with photocatalyst meets the national emission standards.

Studies have shown that with the increase of the amount of catalyst, COD and color removal rate increased; however, there is an extreme value when it exceeds the maximum, at first it slowly increased, and then it slow down. The principle is that when the amount of catalyst is too small, it will result in a small number of holes h+ in unit time, and no doubt the reaction rate is very low; while, when the catalyst added in is excessive, a light scattering effect will be produced, thus to reduce the rate of reaction.

Degradation of Dye Wastewater

WO3/CdS/W is a composite semiconductor photocatalyst, researchers used WO 3 / CdS / W for depth treatment of dyeing wastewater; results have showed that under the optimal conditions and illumination for 10 hours, the COD and color removal rate of printing and dyeing wastewater reached to 69.8% and 71.0%, respectively. Its optimum conditions are: mass ratio of composite photocatalyst consisting of m (WO 3): m (CdS): m (W) is 60: 39: 1, pH value of the test solution is 6.5 and illumination for 10 hours.

Tungsten trioxide-graphene photocatalyst which invented by the Chinese and American scientists can completely degrade Rhodamine B within 15 minutes, which the degradation rate is much faster than that of the single tungsten trioxide and titanium dioxide photocatalyst; Also, developers envision the great potential of this invention to be applied to the dye visible degradation of pollutants.

Because of the porous structure and special composition, the discovered tungsten trioxide - graphene photocatalyst has shown an excellent performance. The tungsten trioxide nano-framework can efficiently absorb the visible light due to multiple reflections in the pores. Also, the generated charges will quickly transfer to the graphene, thus to avoid the charge recombination. In addition, graphene nanosheets exposed on the surface of the photocatalyst, which guarantees the π-π contamination between graphene and dye pollutant, and thus lead to high absorption rate of catalyst material on the substrate. These combined features enhance the degradation of dye pollutants by the photocatalysis.

Inquiry & Feedback

有机污染物的光催化降解

氧化钨图片

三氧化钨光催化剂可以用于空气净化、VOCs、造纸废水、染料废水、一般工业废水、渗滤液、水面有机污染物膜等方面。

空气净化

三氧化钨在生活中的应用方面的研究上取得了很多的进展,也有很多有意思的发明。比如三氧化钨光触媒纸基竹帘、三氧化钨空心球、三氧化钨光触媒涂料,运用于电视机背景墙等。将三氧化钨光催化剂分散液均匀涂布于玻璃板或者其它地方上,使得溶剂成分充分蒸发掉,能够形成透明且膜强度优良的光催化剂膜,发挥空气净化、自净等光催化效果。

三氧化钨光催化剂涂料的制备方法:金属钨通过使用一定技术进行燃烧或升华,合成具有晶体结构的三氧化钨微粒,然后利用电收尘法(Electrical Dust Collection)收集,再将氧化钨微粒溶解于碱性水溶液中,得到更小的粒子,在通过添加粘合剂而制得。另外,通过对燃烧后的微粒进行加热处理,可以得到具有高且稳定的光催化剂。同时,需要注意的是,粘合剂的量也会影响光触媒涂料的活性,当未满1%时,作为涂膜的强度不够;当超过10%的量时,会降低光触媒的活性。

光催化剂清除建材的甲醛的原理在于:经紫外线照射后,光催化剂表面的氢氧离子会被电洞氧化成“氢氧自由基”,氢氧自由基会从其他的有机物(甲醛及各种挥发性有机物)抢走电子,而被抢走电子的有机物会因为失去键结能力而降解成为更小的分子,如二氧化碳、水。

VOCs治理

光催化技术治理VOCs经多年研究,在国内的工业废气净化领域上大规模使用,并不断完善而形成系列工业光催化有机废气净化装置。研究表明,三氧化钨光触媒是治理VOCs的一种十分有效的催化剂,它能通过光的作用,将挥发性有机物最终分解为无害的二氧化碳和水。因而,光触媒具有极强的杀菌、除臭、防霉、净化空气等功能。尤其是,复相三氧化钨光触媒,如掺杂氧化铈、氧化钇,由于掺杂其它金属元素,使得三氧化钨本身晶格发生变化,复相金属的有利结合增强了光催化剂的活性。但是,金属的掺杂量不宜过多,否则可能适得其反,反而降低光触媒的光催化活性。

处理造纸废水

高活性的自由基和双氧水能把废水中的醛氧化为羧酸;把其中纤维素、木质素、有机酸等有机物氧化为CO2, H20, N2;把无机物亚硫酸钠、硫化钠等氧化为硫酸钠、亚硫化钠,从而降低了废水中的COD及其色度。

实验结果表明,当采用WO3/α-Fe2O3/W为复合光催化剂,其组成为WO3:α-Fe2O3:W=75:24:1时,造纸废水的COD和色度去除率分别达到68.3%和71.2%。经光催化深度处理后的废水达到国家排放标准。

研究证明,随着催化剂用量的增加,COD和色度的去除率逐渐增大,但,存在一个极值,当超过这一极值,先是缓慢增加,而后反而变慢。其原理为,当催化剂投量过少时,单位时间内产生的空穴h+数量很少,反应速率自然很低;而当催化剂投量过大,会产生对光的散射作用,从而降低反应速率。

染料废水降解

WO3/CdS/W是一种复相半导体光催化剂,研究者使用WO3/CdS/W对印染废水进行深度处理,实验结果表明,在优化工艺条件下,光照10h,印染废水的COD和色度去除率分别达到69.8%和71.0%。其优化条件为:复相光触媒的组成为m(WO3)/m(CdS)/m(W)的质量比为60:39:1、试液pH为6.5、光照10h。

由中国和美国的科学家共同发明的三氧化钨-石墨烯光催化剂,能够在15分钟内完全降解染料罗丹明B,其速度远大于单一的三氧化钨和二氧化钛光催化剂的降解速度;并且,研发者们设想把这项具有巨大潜能的发明应用于染料污染物的可见光降解。

这种三氧化钨-石墨烯光触媒由于具有特殊的组成和多孔结构,而具优异的性能。三氧化钨的纳米框架能够通过多孔结构的多重反射,而有效的吸收可见光。其生成的电荷能够快速的转移到石墨烯,从而避免了电荷重组。另外,石墨烯纳米片暴露在光催化剂的表面,这保证了石墨烯和染料污染物之间的π–π共轭,进而引发催化剂材料基板上的高吸收率。这些性能结合起来,通过光催化作用增强了染料污染物的降解。

询价 & 订购